About us…how we got started

16 Jun

Well, it all started one day when I forgot a good friend’s birthday…well, actually I did not forget its just that once I became a stay at home mom I’d completely lose track of time. I never seem to know what day it is much less the actual date!

Anyhow, I was scrambling for a last minute gift that I could have delivered next day and I realized that if I did not want flowers, a cookie bouquet, or a fruit bouquet then I was stuck.

I remembered seeing this funky, fun necklace and earring set that was made by Elena Kegler and thought “If only I could have that set delivered, it would be PERFECT!”

I’ve always been surrounded by talented and creative people – Orlando has tons of extremely talented artists with very few outlets for their unique items.

Furthermore, I remembered that when I was working as a radiation therapist at Ormond Memorial Hospital, Florida Hospital, Clear Lake Regional, MD Anderson Cancer Center and Winter Park Hospital there was a HUGE need for gifts for cancer patients and their families. What do you send someone who can’t have flowers, cookies or fruit? It was a common question.

So, I decided to combine the need for gifts delivered locally, the need for thoughtful gifts during difficult circumstances (worldwide) and the unique talents of our artists…and that is how I created Out of the Blue Delivered.

I absolutely LOVE this company because

Rosie the Riveter Marble pendant

Rosie the Riveter Marble pendant

it gives on so many levels- It helps the customer give a gift that is truly unique and/or useful – It helps the recipient to feel special by receiving a gift that was personally chosen just for them – It helps friends and loved ones communicate during difficult times such as diagnosis/treatment of cancer (a time where there is often a gap because people don’t know what to do or say when a friend is confronted with this disease) – It gives the artists the freedom to create and an outlet to share that with others – It helps our economy because we only sell goods made (or altered) in the USA (plus a few made in Canada) – and lastly, Out of the Blue Delivered not only allows me to continue to help others but it provides me a way to be a work-at home-mom to my beautiful Sadie.

Timeline: In January 2008, I decided to go for it and make my dream into a reality. I began assembling artists and products. In March, I started doing events and getting the word out. In May the website was up and in trial mode. By the end of July we were fully functional.

Thank you to all of you who supported us along the way…to our wonderful clients who return again and again and who tell others about us… to those of you whose spirits have been uplifted by gifts you’ve received… and of course, to our artists because without you none of this would be possible!

Now that you know how we came to be, isn’t it about time you sent someone a gift “Out of the Blue”?

Leave a Reply

